Chris Whalen’s Random Life


Average attendance vs. Capacity in Sports….
August 16, 2013, 12:44 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Sorry I have been away for a few months. Had quite a bit of things taking my attention. I wanted to talk a bit about attendance in sports today. Even though in previous posts I have written that ticket sales are a relatively small percentage of revenue for a sports team. In the NFL as an example it is 16.6% of the total revenue of a team. I wanted to share something from the Boston Globe that shows attendance for the major sports team in a given city vs. the total capacity/seats available. It is a pretty interesting piece of information that can show the health of a given league or team in a given city as well as the appetite for spending on sports event tickets from the populous of a given area. I was actually surprised that Boston ranked #1 with over 100% of capacity sold. New York was 6th (must be those huge Yankee Stadium prices or just that there are sooooo many teams there).

These stats I think can not only be used as the raw ticket revenue data, but is more likely an indicator of how likely a given fan base is to buy other items from the team. Such as shirts and other team logo items. I have talked so much about the finances and revenue of teams and leagues here, I thought it might be a good time to take a look at the appetite for spending from fans. The link to the full article is below as well as the graphic. Let me know what you think of it!

Article – http://www.boston.com/sports/blogs/statsdriven/2013/08/boston_strongest.html

Here is the graphic / list of cities…

AttendanceBoston-thumb-600x370-110973


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment